i was just reading one of my daily devotionals (or one that I at least attempt to do daily) and today’s passage from the Bible was 1 Corinthians 13, the famous love chapter…and perhaps i’m a walking cliche but this has always been and will always be one of my absolute fave parts of the Bible. i get so excited every time i read it and find myself reading it at least 2-3 times in a row, and i can’t really explain the effect it has on me. this one little passage is just so complete in and of itself, and strips away all pretensions and preconceived notions that we need to BE so much, or TRY so much, or build ourselves up into people others will want to be around…
it isn’t about us. we can’t do that. all we have to do is love. problem is, that sounds so poetic and romantic and so much easier than it pans out to be, once we really take the time to digest the words and come to an understanding of love’s essence. how do we understand love without knowing God as love, and seeing Jesus’ death as love, and attributing it to something sooooooo much infinitely bigger than our little selves? sure, our hearts can love, but the beating will one day stop and love continues on…it doesn’t need us. it’s way bigger than we are. i recommend we tie our nooses tight to Love’s very pulse and hold on for dear life…

So tooday i started thinking about how God is LOVE personified and if we are modeling ourselves after His character, than we are modeling ourselves after LOVE and above all else, love should ooze through everything we do…for when we’re patient, and when we persevere, and when we’re humble and truthful and hopeful and all the other attributes in that passage…we are loving. Love is so much more than one little word and one little feeling…it’s a lifestyle of surrender and constant emulation of something way beyond ourselves that we have to let permeate into our very beings until everything we do, we do out of LOVE — Love for God, Love for ourselves as His creations, Love for others (friends, family, relationships), Love for LIFE itself and for the potential we have to reach the world. sometimes i feel like there’s so much beauty and goodness glittering quietly out there, just waiting to be found, and we as humans spend so much time and energy chasing self-seeking pleasures and meaningless winds that we lose sight of all that really matters most – and then God brings us to our knees with the all-encompassing phrase, “If I have not love, I am nothing.” We need to get back to basics. What would happen to the world if we all reallllly believed and acted upon this LOVE thing?

“And the greatest of these is love.”

No explanation needed. I want those words tattooed on my heart and bleeding through my every vein.

1 Corinthians 13

Love

1If I speak in the tongues[a] of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames,[b] but have not love, I gain nothing.

4Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

8Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears. 11When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. 12Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

